WMRCDAILYNEWS.COM has moved to...


11 / 15 / 2017
  - 07:34:47 AM
An Exclamation Point on a Successful BVT Career

As students await acceptance letters from colleges and universities around the nation, a tuition-free college education is one of the many options available to the 75 Blackstone Valley Tech students named recipients of the John and Abigail Adams Scholarship. 

Each year, the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education awards the scholarship to students who earned scores of Advanced and Proficient on grade 10 MCAS tests in English Language Arts (ELA), Mathematics, and Science and Technology/Engineering (with at least one score of advanced) and earned a combined score within the top 25 percent of their school district.

Students who accept the John and Abigail Adams Scholarship and enroll as full-time students in a Massachusetts state university or college will receive a tuition-waiver for up to eight semesters, which must be completed within six years of the recipient’s high school graduation. Recipients must also maintain at least a 3.0 grade point average during their enrollment.

Superintendent-Director Dr. Michael F. Fitzpatrick noted that last year, the John and Abigail Adams Scholarships were among nearly $4 million in renewable scholarships and awards earned by Valley Tech graduates.

Valley Tech views college as a continuation of learning; many Valley Tech students simultaneously pursue a post-secondary education while retaining employment in their vocational industry.

The following members of the BVT Class of 2018 (listed alphabetically by town) were recently informed of their eligibility for the John and Abigail Adams Scholarship:


Maria Batista; Audrey Bourque; Riley Compton; Halle Derouin; Cali Goldberg; Derek Houle; Shawna Kenney; Troy Lafond; Alexa Venuti.


Zachary Bergeron; Kayla Chaplin.


Jarod Ayotte; Sydney Connor; Dominic Corso; Josephine Garland; Margaret Gurney; Damon Llopiz; Harley Mowry; Priya Patel; Olivia Setzer.


Rowan LeBlanc; Ryan Malmquist; Kolby Morton; Aleecia Pease; Olivia Rice; Michelle Yitts.


Ryan Gambell; Megan White. 


Michael Aurelio; Jack Duncan; Matthew Forget; Ryan LeFave; Silvana Reid; Timothy Snow.


Jorge Barrios; Jake Goldberg; Peyton Grant; Luchianna Krzciuk; Phillip Marques; Michael Rose; Jordi Ruiz-Manzano; Benjamin Ruscitti; Julia Tutela.


Jadon Laforest.


Sarah Arnold; Hailey Baldwin; Cameron Dolson; Trevor Gallagher; Casey Gosselin; Zachary Griggs; Gibran Kafal; Alyssa Mahoney; Jocelyn Marchant; Shane O’Bannon; Stephen Oncay; Zachary Poirier; David Stearns; Vanessa Trapasso; Sophia Zechello.


Evan Donovan; Anna Gauvin; Abigayle Menzdorf. 


Nolan Bohan; Josephine Burlingame; Douglas Cook; Benjamin Gardner; Nichole Leveille; Jaclyn Matellian; Viviana Sebastiano.


Emily Baca; James Lutton; Morgan O’Brien; Meaghan Remillard; Justin Thayer; Katarina Whitney.

Blackstone Valley Regional Vocational Technical High School serves the towns of Bellingham, Blackstone, Douglas, Grafton, Hopedale, Mendon, Milford, Millbury, Millville, Northbridge, Sutton, Upton and Uxbridge. Located in the heart of the Blackstone Valley, Blackstone Valley Tech creates a positive learning community that prepares students for personal and professional success in an internationally competitive society through a fusion of vigorous vocational, technical, and academic skills. The school’s website is www.valleytech.k12.ma.us.